Proteins are nutrients, just like carbohydrates and fats. There are both animal and vegetable /plant proteins. Proteins are made up of different, linked amino acids. A number of amino acids together is a piece of protein, a peptide.
Almost all foods contain protein to a greater or lesser extent. Our body can only extract some amino acids from food, these are called essential amino acids. Other amino acids can, for example, be composed of separate amino acids.
There are two types of proteins; vegetable and animal proteins. For example, soya or pea protein are vegetable. Collagen peptides, like gelatin, are of animal origin. Because humans are genetically more like animals than plants, it is easier to get the essential amino acids from food with animal proteins.
Collagen peptides, in combination with vitamin C, supports muscles, bones, joints and flexible skin. This is due to a special amino acid, (hydroxy) proline. Collagen is an important building block for muscles, bones, cartilage and skin. Collagen peptides are of animal origin and therefore not suitable for vegans.
Besides that proteins can support our muscles and bones, both animal and vegetable proteins give us a feeling of fullness and help us to remain saturated longer.
Kefir is a dairy product, made from milk, according to age-old recipe. The origin of kefir lies in areas in and around the Caucasus. Here the wise peoples drank this delicious dairy drink centuries ago. The fermentation of the milk ensured that it lasted longer and received a particularly rich taste.
Kefir is thicker than milk and more fluid than full yogurt, it has a unique structure so you can use it in many ways!
Kefir is made from fresh, semi-skimmed cow’s milk that is fermented by adding special kefir cultures. There are special rules for the cultures that should be present in the kefir. The kefir cultures consists of a combination of good bacteria and yeasts.
During the fermentation of the milk, the bacteria and yeasts cause the milk sugars, lactose, to be converted. The conversion of lactose provides the delicious fresh-sour taste of Kefir and also changes the structure.
In some fermentations sugars are converted into alcohol, such as with grape sugars when wine is made. The fermentation of the milk is carried out in such a way that there is less than 0.1% alcohol in our kefir products.
Kefir is suitable for drinking out of the package as a snack or at breakfast or lunch. But kefir is also delicious with muesli or fresh fruit.
Did you know that you can make a lot of recipes with kefir? Try kefir in your smoothie, dressing, in pancake or cake batter, cheesecake, ice cream and even more!
Laban is, like kefir, a fermented milk drink. Laban is a drink that is originally drunk a lot in the Middle East and North Africa. There, laban has been drunk for centuries to replenish water and salts in the body.
The structure of laban is similar to that of kefir. The product is thicker than milk and more fluid than yoghurt.
Laban is made from fresh, semi-skimmed, cow’s milk that is fermented by adding laban cultures. These give taste and structure to the lab. This process is similar to that of our kefir.
The fermentation of laban is similar to that of kefir. During the fermentation, milk sugars are converted, this provides a delicious fresh-sour taste and gives the laban its typical structure.
In some fermentations sugars are converted into alcohol, such as with grape sugars when wine is made. The fermentation of the milk is carried out in such a way that there is less than 0.1% alcohol in our laban.
Laban is suitable for drinking out of the package as a snack or at breakfast or lunch. You can also process laban in different dishes and sauces. For example, try the laban in a smoothie too!